Inspiration Tuesday: Zinsser

Yesterday was a holiday in Canada, so I didn’t post my usual Monday Inspiration. Then, work got busy… enough of the whining. Here is an interesting quote from a book I’m currently reading.

Writers are obviously at their most natural when they write in the first person. Writing is an intimate transaction between two people, conducted on paper, and it will go well to the extent it retains its humanity: Therefore I urge people to write in the first person: to use “I” and “me” and “we” and “us.”

On Writing Well by William Zinsser

This is a classic guide on writing non-fiction, but I think many of his practical tips apply equally well to fiction.

Leave a Reply

