Where I Write

I’m fascinated by pictures of writer’s offices and desks. Last year, I spent some time in London and visited the home of one of my favourite writers – Charles Dickens. They have the desk where he wrote some of his most famous works, including The Pickwick Papers and Oliver Twist.

I also enjoyed the series The Guardian newspaper did in 2009 called Writer’s Rooms.

My favourite room is that of Virginia Woolf, a converted tool shed at the bottom of the garden at the Woolf’s home, Monk’s House in Rodmell, Sussex. In her “writer’s lodge,” Virginia Woolf wrote all her major works, including Mrs. Dalloway and The Waves.

I also liked Jane Austen’s room, which wasn’t a room at all, but a tiny table. Just goes to show that you don’t need a special room, or even a fancy desk to write.

This is where I write. It’s an Ikea desk that I bought years ago for a desktop computer, but still seems to work well for my trusty MacBook Pro. My desk is in the corner of my tiny living room of my tiny one-bedroom apartment. I’d like to get a better desk, but for now this will do.

More cool writer’s desk can be found at Desk Space. Then there are really cool offices at Design*Sponge here and here, but many of them seem too neat. Does anyone actually work at these desks?

2 thoughts on “Where I Write

  1. I just want to mention I am just beginner to blogging and site-building and seriously loved this web page. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your blog . You actually have tremendous articles and reviews. Regards for sharing your web site.

Leave a Reply

