Back on the NaNoWrimo Band Wagon

After about a week of thinking that I was going to just focus on writing well and not pursue the NaNoWri Challenge, a funny thing happened. I started doing some serious writing and began accumulating words. Suddenly, the idea of writing 50,000 quality words didn’t seem quite so difficult. So I’m back on the challenge and determined to complete 50,000 words by November 30. So far, I’ve written 30,435 words (106 pages double spaced). This is more than I’ve ever written in any of my novel attempts. I’m excited to keep going.

I can’t say that all of my words have been good and I’m quite sure that I’ll be rewriting a good many of them. But I’m comforted by the thought that by writing these words I’m figuring out how to tell this story, even if the second draft is a major rewrite of what I’m writing now. I also read this article by Junot Diaz. He got stuck writing his first novel – he’d get to page 75 and stall. He tried many times and even gave up writing at one point with the idea of pursuing a completely different profession. But he came to the realization that a writer is a person who writes – full stop. This quote from the article really inspires me:

In my view a writer is a writer because even when there is no hope, even when nothing you do shows any sign of promise, you keep writing anyway.

Junot Diaz

I’m going to keep writing.

Leave a Reply

