Sunday Salon: Writing Down the Bones

It is easy to lose sight of the fact that writers do not write to impart knowledge to others; rather, they write to inform themselves.

Forward by Judith Guest to Writing Down the Bones 

I’ve been really struggling with writing lately. My job is going through a major transition and I’ve been finding it hard to concentrate on my own writing. Perhaps this is an excuse to allow myself to step away from my own writing. This has gone  on for a couple of months. But now it resent the intrusion on my time and creative energy. I feel out of balance. I’ve been writing and thinking of myself as a writer since I read the Little House on the Prairie books when I was ten years old. Whenever I’m not writing, I don’t feel like myself.

Lately, I’ve been paralysed, thinking about what to write – novel, short stories, memoir? I’m not sure what to do. Which is why I picked up Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg. I’ve read this book at least twice before. It is like an old friend. I came across the words in the Foreword by Judith Guest and it was like a glass of cold water to the face – in a good way. A wake up call. I need to get back to basics – write to inform myself. Write through the challenges in my job. Write to figure out what I want to write. Just write for practice and not think about the end product, or who will read it, where it should be published, etc. I need to just write.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Writing Down the Bones

  1. I haven’t been able to write for several months now, either, so I can totally sympathize with you. I hope you’re able to start writing again soon.

  2. What a great thought, I have that book somewhere. Just write, that’s what I keep telling myself too. But sometimes it is so hard to start, I can’t seem to make time.
    Love your wake-up call.

  3. thats true. . cause I always have the problem but I try to write something simple and create the rest come and see for your self.

    womanofworship.com

    God bless

Leave a Reply

