Alice Munro Wins Man Booker International Award

Today, it was announced that Alice Munro won the Man Booker International Prize. The prize is awarded every two years to a living writer. What is neat about this prize is that the winner is chosen solely at the discretion of the judges; there are no submissions from publishers. This is rare, as most major prizes receive submissions from publishers. As a result, prizes like the Scotiabank Giller Prize have become dominated by major publishers. 

Munro is a brilliant Canadian short story writer and I think she deserves the recognition. She was chosen over other extraordinary writers, such as V.S. Naipaul, Peter Carey, E. L. Doctorow and Joyce Carol Oates! I’m not sure I’d have wanted to be on that judging panel. It is also great to see a short story writer win the prize when so often short story collections are over looked in favour of novels.

Man Booker International Prize


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s